Skip to main content

Welcome to Hester Memorial Library

ANNOUNCEMENT

Things to know before you visit the library:

  • The front gates are open from 8:00 am-5:30 pm.
  • Social distancing is required in the library.
  • Masks are required in order to receive service. Patrons should bring their own masks.
  • Books should be returned using the book drop located on the library balcony on the Hayes side of the building.
  • Curbside service is available by calling 977-7091.

Students who need assistance can contact library staff by emailing reference@ngu.edu or by calling (864) 977-7091 or (864) 977-7094. 

We have created a Libguide page called "Help During Online Learning" which provides some resources for both faculty and students. Students who need assistance can contact library staff by emailing reference@ngu.edu or by calling (864) 977-7091 or (864) 977-7094. 

Covid Notice of Risk for Visitors:

As our goal is to safeguard the health and safety of the NGU community, this notice provides information we ask you to observe and understand regarding the COVID‐19 virus. Since the COVID‐19 virus is highly contagious and could be contracted from a variety of sources, our institution wants to ensure you are aware of the risks associated with visiting NGU. The COVID‐19 virus has a long incubation period; you or the campus staff may have the virus and not show symptoms and yet still be highly contagious. Due to the frequency and timing of visits by outside guests and the characteristics of the virus there is a risk of you contracting the COVID-19 virus simply by being on campus. Pursuant to statements from the Center for Disease Control (CDC) and S.C. Department of Health and Environmental Control, guests are encouraged to practice social distancing, engage in frequent handwashing, and to refrain from activities known to spread the virus. If you are running a fever, have a dry cough and experience shortness of breath, you are not permitted on campus. If you are running a fever and show other symptoms, you are also not permitted on campus. It should also be acknowledged that you could contract the COVID‐19 virus from outside this campus and unrelated to your visit to campus. If you are concerned that you may be exposed to the virus by visiting campus, you would be advised not to visit.

Summer Hours:

Sunday                 CLOSED

Mon-Tues             8:00 a.m.- 8:00 p.m.

Wed-Thurs           8:00 a.m.- 5:00 p.m.

Friday                   8:00 a.m. - 12:00 p.m.

Saturday              CLOSED

LIBRARY RESOURCES

Search the Library Catalog

The NGU library has over 70,000 print volumes available. You can search the NGU catalog by clicking here.

 

 

Search eBook Collections

Can't find a book in our General Collection? Be sure to check out our eBook databases! We have over 180,000 titles from which to search; also, these titles contain some of the most current research in their fields of study. Now sure about reading through an entire book online? Each eBook has search options designed to help you focus and narrow your search. You can search our eBook collections with the links below. 

Ebsco Academic Collection 

Oxford Scholarship Online 

ProQuest Ebook Central 

Search PASCAL Delivers

Need a book ASAP that we don't have in our library? We have a solution- and it's FREE! Remember to visit our Interlibrary Loan form online and complete it. After you've submitted it, we will try our hardest to have your book delivered to the library in a few days. Then, you can pick it up at Circulation and check it out like any other book.

Interlibrary Loan Form 

 

Search the Databases

The Library provides access to over 80 online research databases. Use the research databases to find scholarly journal articles, newspaper articles, eBooks, government documents, and more. Using the databases provided by the library will help you find reliable information from trusted sources. A database may be dedicated to a single subject or cover several subjects.

To see an alphabetical listing of our databases visit our Databases A-Z page. You can also narrow your results by subject area on this page.  

To see our online publications by subject visit our Publications List

To search most of our databases, as well as our physical collection, visit our catalog.

To access the online research databases, you'll be prompted to enter your NGU username and password. This is the same username and password you use to access NGU email or to login to computers at NGU. For the username, you only need to enter the first part of the email address (example: smithjd15). 

 

Research Guides

Use subject-related and course-specific research guides created by librarians to assist you with your research topics.

 

Off-Campus Access

To access individual Online Research Databases or e-Book Collections, you'll be prompted to enter your NGU username and password. This is the same username and password you use to access NGU email or to login to computers at NGU. For the username, you only need to enter the first part of the email address (example: jjohnson9542). 

If you need help with off-campus access, please contact us:

Phone: (864) 977-7094

Email: reference@ngu.edu