Faculty Services
Information Literacy Sessions for Your Classes
Full = session takes the full class time | Half = session takes half or less of class time
- NGU 101 – Overview of general library services combined with Introductory Library and Database instruction (Full)
- Introductory Database Instruction – Basic search strategies, an overview of databases offered, how to use databases (Half)
- Introductory Library Instruction – Basic search strategies, how to use the catalog, how to locate materials (Half)
- Advanced Database Instruction – Discipline-specific, advanced searching techniques, intricacies of relevant databases, or focus on student topics (Full)
- Evaluating Sources of Information – Criteria for evaluation of different types of sources, practice evaluating resources (Half)
- Search Strategies – Advanced searching techniques, effective search terms, search operators, filters (Half)
- Senior Seminar – Advanced searching techniques, advanced database techniques, focus on student research questions (Full)
- Developing a Research Question or Topic – Developing your question/ topic based on available resources and length of assignment (Half)
- Literature Reviews – Examples of literature reviews, how to find sources, assistance with student topics (Half or Full)
- Customized Sessions – Pick 2 half sessions or tell us what you want and we can create a half or a full session that meets your need
Modules you can incorporate into your classes
Reference Services (864-977-7094)
- Request materials from other libraries
- Schedule an Information Literacy session for your class
- Submit subjects or topics for subject guides
- Schedule an individual appointment for a refresher in effectively using databases or other resources
- Find quality academic materials for affordable learning
- Schedule a librarian to speak at your department meeting or in-service day
Circulation Services (864-977-7091)
- Textbook Reserves
- Faculty Course Reserves
- Borrow materials from our library or other libraries within the state using your current NGU ID
Acquisitions (library.acquisitions@ngu.edu)
- Request materials for purchase
- Request the development of a specific subject area
Archives (archives@ngu.edu)
Archives is available by appointment only. Contact Joanna Beasley (jbeasley@ngu.edu or 7093) to arrange archive services.
- Request a tour of our archive
- Assign a special project using NGU archival material
- Arrange an internship or practicum for a student interested in archives or public history
Accreditation
- Hester Memorial Library Policy Manual
- Custom fact sheets detailing library information needed for College or Departmental accreditation reports are available by request. Contact the Dean directly at cmcmahan@ngu.edu.
