Skip to main content

Welcome to Hester Memorial Library

STUDENT SERVICES

Getting Started

The Hester Memorial Library has a combination of resources to help you with your research, including print materials, eBooks, and online databases. 

Finding Materials

To search for articles and books (electronic and print) you can use our EBSCO Discovery Service using the search box below.

 

EBSCO Discovery Service
Limit Your Results

 

Finding Books

How do I find out what books are in the library?  

1.) To find an e-book, go to any of our full-text online eBook collections. 

Ebsco Academic Collection 

Oxford Scholarship Online 

ProQuest Ebook Central 

2.) To find a physical book, DVD or other library material, search the NGU Library Catalog.

Keep searches SIMPLE--use one to three important words, NOT a sentence
Decide whether you are searching for:
  • Random words = Keyword search
  • A topic = Subject Search
  • An Author = Author Search (last name, first name)
  • Words in the title = Title Search

For each item included in the Search Results, the catalog displays the availability, the call number and the physical location within the library.

 

How do I figure out where a book or DVD is on the shelf?  A call number is used to identify the exact location of an item on the shelf.  

  • Items with a call number beginning with A-Z are located in the general circulating collection on the 2nd floor.
  • Items with a call number beginning with "Prayer" are located in the Buddy Freeman Prayer Collection next to the Bible Museum on the first floor.
  • Items with a call number beginning with "Roark" are located near the circulation desk on the first floor.
  • Items with a call number beginning with "McCormick" are located on the short shelves near the Learning and Listening rooms on the first floor.

 

Finding Articles

How and where do I find scholarly articles?  The best way to find appropriate articles for your assignments is by searching the library's online databases.  The databases include articles from scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, and more. You can limit your search to full-text and/or scholarly journals within each database.

To see an alphabetical listing of our databases visit our Databases A-Z page. You can also narrow your results by subject area on this page.

To see our online publications by subject visit our Publications List

 

 

PASCAL Delivers

Search the collections of college and university libraries across the state! NGU students, faculty, and staff may request books from other SC college and university libraries and have them delivered within a few business days.  You can request up to 50 books at a time with a checkout period of 6 weeks.  You will need to enter your library ID/barcode number (for students this is your student ID, for faculty/staff this is your phone number) to request books.  If you do not know your library barcode number, please contact the library.  PASCAL Delivers also offers the following services: 

  • Pick Up Anywhere:  choose to have your items sent to another participating library if that is more convenient for you.  For example, are you a distance education student that lives closer to the College of Charleston?  No problem! Request your items through PASCAL Delivers and just select College of Charleston as your pick up location.
  • Visiting Patron:  You can also go in-person to visit another PASCAL Delivers library and check out the book yourself using the Visiting Patron service. Note that Visiting Patron checkouts have different limits; in-person patrons are limited to three items and the checkout period for these items is three weeks with one additional three-week renewal allowed. You will need to present a picture ID and know your student ID number. 

Interlibrary Loan

If you need material you cannot find in our library, we can possibly find it for you! Just fill out this form. Once your item arrives, we will e-mail you and let you know.

 

Borrowing 

Students

  • Must have a valid NGU I.D. or photo I.D. to borrow materials.
  • Books - 2 week loan period (up to 10 at a time)
  • DVDs - 2 week loan period
  • Checked out materials may be renewed twice.
  • Faculty Reserves - In-library use only for 2 hours unless a faculty member gives permission stating otherwise.
  • Textbook Reserves- In-library use only for 2 hours 
  • Calculators, electronics chords, and headphones- 2 hour loan period

Faculty and Staff

  • Books - Month loan period, but can be renewed unlimited amount of times throughout the semester (no limit)
  • DVDs - Month loan period (no limit)

Alumni:  See library staff

Community Patrons:  See library staff  

____________________________________________________________________________

Fees

  • Student printing - Prints are $.05 per page. You receive $1.50 on your printing account your first semester. After that, you will need to add money to your printing account with a credit or debit card by going to prining.ngu.edu. You can also use cash to add money to your account by going to the business office. Printing in the library is only available in black and white. Color prints are available through the Print Hub.
  • Student copying - $.10/page for B/W. Color copies are only available through the Print Hub.
  • Public copying $.10/page for B/W
  • Lost/ damaged books - See library staff

Renew your books. You will need your name and library barcode number (same as student ID #). Type in a "bg" before your ID number. Renewing your book(s) online will not remove any holds. To have a hold removed, please go to the circulation desk.

 

Faculty Reserves and Textbooks

1. What are faculty reserves?  Faculty Reserves are books, articles, and other items placed at the library by a faculty member for class use. They are located at the circulation desk

2. What kinds of items are on reserve?

  • books from the general collection
  • videos from the general collection
  • faculty member’s personal copies of materials
  • photocopies (i.e. book chapters, articles, practice tests)

3. What are the reserves circulation policies?

  • Reserve materials, including videos, must be used in the library unless we have received permission from the professor to let you take it out of the library.
  • Reserve materials can be checked out for up to 2 hours.
  • Students must have their student ID to borrow reserve materials.

4. Can reserve materials be copied or scanned?

Students may copy reserve materials (in accordance with *Copyright Law) at a cost of 10 cents per page. 

5. Are all university textbooks available in the library?

Unfortunately, we are not able to provide all of the textbooks for every course. We do, however, have a small collection. The majority of the textbooks we have were donated by professors and other students. If you finish with a course, please consider donating your textbook to the library to help out other students.

*Under Title 17 of the United States Code, it is illegal to reproduce, distribute, or publicly display any copyrighted work (or any substantial portion thereof) without the permission of the copyright owner. Exceptions can be made under fair use guidelines, but the patron, not the Library, is responsible for any violations. 

  • Prints cost $.05 per page and are only available in black and white. To print color copies, you will need to go to the Print Hub located below the School of Theater. 
  • Your first semester at NGU, you are given $1.50 on your print account. When those funds run out, you will need to add money to your printing account.
  • You can add money to your printing account by going to printing.ngu.edu to pay with a card or you can go to the business office on campus to pay with cash.
  • You can print from the printers in the library or you can print from your laptop or other devices by going to printing.ngu.edu and logging in with your e-mail credentials. Once logged in, follow the on-screen directions to upload the document you want to print.

 

Off-Campus Access

1. To access Online Research Databases, e-Book Collections, or other electronic resources through our proxy service, you'll be prompted to enter your NGU username and password.  This is the same username and password you use to access NGU email or to login to computers at NGU.  For the username, you only need to enter the first part of the email address (example: smithjd15).  

If you need help with off-campus access, please contact us:

Phone: 864-977-7094

Email: reference@ngu.edu

Biology

Atlas of Animal Anatomy and Histology by Péter Lőw, Kinga Molnár, and György Kriska

Atlas of Human Anatomy by Frank H. Netter
Mosby's Medical Dictionary by Marie T. O'Toole
Physiology at a Glance by Jeremy P.T. Ward and R.W.A. Linden

Business

Business Ethics by Mark S. Swartz
Ethical Leadership in Organizations by Bernhard Bachmann
How to Work With and Lead People Not Like You by Kelly McDonald
Responsible Leadership and Ethical Decision-Making by Sunil Savur and Sukhbir Sandhu
The 100 Most Important American Financial Crises: An Encyclopedia of the Lowest Points in American Economic History by Quentin R. Skrabec

Christian Studies

1 & 2 Chronicles by Andrew E. Hill
1 & 2 Kings by August H. Konkel
1 & 2 Timothy/Titus by Walter J. Liefeld
1 and 2 Samuel by Bill T. Arnold
1 and 2 Thessalonians by Michael W. Holmes
1 Corinthians by Craig L. Blomberg
1 Peter by Scot McKnight
2 Corinthians by Scott J. Hafemann
2 Peter, and Jude by Douglas J. Moo
Acts by Ajith Fernando
Colossians and Philemon by David E. Garland
Daniel by Tremper Longman
Deuteronomy by Daniel Isaac Block
Ecclesiastes, Song of Songs by Lain W. Provan
Encyclopedia of Martin Luther and the Reformation by Mark A.Lamport and Martin E. Marty
Ephesians by Klyne Snodgrass
Esther by Karen H. Jobes
Evangelical America: An Encyclopedia of Contemporary American Religious Culture by Timothy J. Demy and Paul R. Shockley
Exodus by Peter Enns
Ezekiel by Lain W. Duguid
Galatians by Scot McKnight
Genesis by John H. Walton
Haggai, Zechariah by Mark J. Boda
Hebrews by George H. Guthrie
Hosea, Amos, Micah by Gary V. Smith
Isaiah by John N. Oswalt
James by David P. Nystrom
Jeremiah and Lamentations by J. Andrew Dearman
Job by John H. Walton and Kelly Vizcaino
Joel, Obadiah, Malachi by David W. Baker
John by Gary M. Burge
Jonah, Nahum, Habakkuk, Zephaniah by James K. Bruckner
Joshua by Robert L. Hubbard
Judges and Ruth by K. Lawson Younger
Leviticus, Numbers by Roy Gane
Luke by Darrell L. Bock
Mark by David E. Garland
Matthew by Michael J. Wilkins
Philippians by Frank Thielman
Proverbs by Paul E. Koptak
Psalms by Gerald Henry Wilson
Revelation by Craig S. Keener
Romans by Douglas J. Moo
The Letters of John by Gary M. Burge

Controversial Topics

Crime and Punishment in America: An Encyclopedia of Trends and Controversies in the Justice System [2 Volumes] by Laura L. Finley

History 

American Civil War: A State-by-State Encyclopedia [2 Volumes] by Paul G. Pierpaoli and Spencer Tucker
American History Through Its Greatest Speeches: A Documentary History of the United States [3 Volumes] by Jolyon P. Girard, Darryl Mace, and Courtney Michelle Smith
The Illustrated Encyclopedia of World History by Donker Van Heel

Literature

A Midsummer Night's Dream by William Shakespeare
A Portrait of the Artist As a Young Man by James Joyce and Jeri Johnson
A Doll's House (1879) by Henrik Ibsen
Adam Bede by George Eliot
Alice's Adventures in Wonderland by Lewis Carroll and Salvador Dali
Antigone Sophocles and Lewis Campbell
Beowulf by Kevin Crossley-Holland
From Here to Eternity by James Jones
Hamlet, Prince of Denmark by William Shakespeare
Lady Susan by Jane Austen
Maggie: A Girl of the Streets by Stephen Crane
Oedipus the King by Sophocles and Nicholas Rudall
Paradise Lost and Paradise Regained by John Milton
Scarlet Letter by Nathaniel Hawthorne
Shirley by Charlotte Bronte
The Annotated Anne of Green Gables by L.M. Montgomery, Margaret Anne Doody, Mary E. Doody Jones, and Wendy E. Barry
The Best of Jules Verne by Jules Verne
The Idiot by Fyodor Dostoyevsky
The Importance of Being Earnest by Oscar Wilde
The Little Prince by Antoine De Saint-Exupéry (Book Analysis) by Pierre Weber and Carly Probert
Twelfth Night by William Shakespeare
Twenty Years After by Alexandre Dumas and David Coward

Medicine

A Dictionary of the History of Medicine by Anton Sebastian
Historical Dictionary of Medical Ethics by Laurence B. McCullough
Medical Ethics, Law and Communication at a Glance by Patrick Davey, Anna Rathmell, Michael Dunn, Charles Foster, and Helen Salisbury
Mosby's Dictionary of Medicine, Nursing & Health Professions by Mosby Inc.

Psychology

APA Dictionary of Psychology by Gary R. VandenBos and The American Psychological Association 

Reference

Encyclopedia of American Film Serials by Geoff Mayer
The United States Government Internet Directory 2017 by Mary Meghan Ryan

Science

The Young Earth by John David Morris

Spanish

A Frequency Dictionary of Spanish by Mark Davies and Kathy Davies

Sports

Quick Questions in Sport-Related Concussion by Tamara C. Valovich McLeod
Routledge Handbook of Sport Expertise by Damian Farrow and Joseph Baker

Writing

APA/MLA Guidelines by Thomas Smith
Chicago Manual Of Style Guidelines by MaryAnne Gobble
Writing Tips & Tricks by Lauren Scerbo

Loading ...