Welcome to Hester Memorial Library

Library Hours Fall and Spring Semester

Sunday                 6:00 p.m. - 11:00 p.m.

Mon-Thurs            7:30 a.m. - 12:00 a.m.

Friday                   7:30 a.m. - 4 p.m.

Saturday              12:00 p.m. - 5 p.m.

Summer Session Library Hours

Sunday                 CLOSED

Mon-Tues             8:00 a.m.- 8:00 p.m.

Wed-Thurs           8:00 a.m.- 5:00 p.m.

Friday                   8:00 a.m. - 12:00 p.m.

Saturday              CLOSED

Closings and Exceptions

MLK Day            CLOSED

Easter Break      CLOSED Good Friday, Saturday, and Easter Sunday

Labor Day          CLOSED Sunday and Monday of Labor Day Weekend

Thanksgiving     Close at 6:00 p.m. the Tuesday before Thanksgiving and reopen Sunday night before classes resume

Memorial Day    CLOSED

July 4^th              CLOSED (schedule may vary that week depending on campus schedule)

Exam Hours

Sunday              3:00 p.m. - 12:00 a.m.

Mon & Tues       7:30 a.m. - 12:00 a.m.

Wed & Thurs      7:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.

Friday                8:00 a.m. - 12:00 p.m.

Library Hours when school is not in session

Sunday            CLOSED

Mon-Thurs       8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.

Friday              8:00 a.m. - 12:00 p.m.

Saturday         CLOSED

Fall Break Hours

Wednesday    Close at 8 pm

Thursday        CLOSED
Friday             CLOSED

Saturday          CLOSED

Spring Break Hours

Fri                 7:30-2:00

Sat                closed

Sun               closed

Mon              closed

Tues              8-5

Wed              8-5

Thurs             8-5

Fri                  8-noon

Sat                 closed

Sun                resume regular hours

Contact Us

Archive: (864) 977-2125

Cataloging and Acquisitions: (864) 977-7093 or library.acquisitions@ngu.edu

Circulation and General Inquiries: (864) 977-7091

Curriculum Lab: (864) 977-7096

Reference: (864) 977-7094 or reference@ngu.edu

Librarians

Carla McMahan, MLIS

Dean of Libraries

Joanna Beasley, MLIS

Archives/ Technical Services Librarian

Leslie Brown, MLIS

Reference/ Interlibrary Loan Librarian

Lian Warner, MLIS

Instruction/ Public Services Librarian

Library Staff

Full time Staff

Jennie Stevens

Library Circulation Assistant

Cat Rosario

Library Reference Assistant 

Jennifer Palmer

Library Circulation Assistant: Nights 

Blaine Thompson

Library Circulation Assistant

Borrowing 

Students

• Must have a valid NGU I.D. or photo I.D. to borrow materials.
• Books - 2 week loan period 
• DVDs - 2 week loan period 
• Checked out materials may be renewed twice.
• Faculty Reserves - in-library use only unless the faculty member gives permission stating otherwise.
• Textbook Reserves- in-library use only
• Calculators- Two hour loan period
• Electronic cords and headphones- Two hour loan period
• Umbrellas- 24 hour loan period
• Computer Mouse- 2 hour loan period
• Computer Speakers- 2 hour loan period

Faculty and Staff

• Books and DVDs - Month loan period, but can be renewed unlimited amount of times throughout the semester (no limit)

Alumni: See library staff

Community Patrons: See library staff 

Renew your books here. Once on the catalog site, you will need to log in using your NGU e-mail credentials. 

Computer & Internet Use Policy

Please inquire at the circulation desk for WiFi access information.

Users are prohibited from:

Viewing Inappropriate or Unlawful Content

Content that is fraudulent, harassing, embarrassing, sexually explicit, profane, obscene, intimidating, discriminatory, hostile, suggestive, defamatory, or otherwise unlawful or inappropriate may not be downloaded or sent by e-mail or any other form of electronic communication (such as Internet postings, newsgroups, chat groups, voice mail, paging system, music, graphics and video files, etc.) or displayed on or stored in any NGU IT Resource. NGU has implemented Internet blocking software to restrict access to inappropriate Internet sites. The Internet is a worldwide network of computers that contains millions of pages of information, some of which may contain offensive or inappropriate material.

Circumventing Established Security. 

Users may not attempt to circumvent NGU data protection measures or attempt to uncover security loopholes. Users may not gain or attempt to gain unauthorized access to restricted areas or files on NGU Information Technologies. Users should not tamper with any software protections or restrictions placed on computer applications, files or directories. Users must immediately report suspected network, hardware or software vulnerabilities. Users will not attempt to demonstrate or exploit suspected security vulnerabilities. Users may not download or use any unauthorized security or “hacker” tools or devices.

Violating Network Security.

Users will not conduct network mapping, discovery, port scans, traffic analysis, traffic logging or any other information gathering/discovery technique from any NGU Information Technologies device unless that action is specifically authorized in their normal duties and responsibilities and approved by the NGU IT Department. 

In order to enforce these policies, the Information Technology Department may:

Implement Additional Security Measures: 

The NGU IT Department reserves the right to impose additional security restrictions and procedures in the future as necessary.

Monitor Internet Use:

Monitoring includes, without limitation, any activity performed on a NGU Information Technology Resource including Internet Sites visited, material uploaded/downloaded by Users to/from the Internet, and an email sent and received by users.

Student Printing

• Prints cost $.05 per page and are only available in black and white. To print color copies, you will need to go to the Print Hub located in Runion (the former Roe building at the 4-way stop). 
• During your first semester at NGU, you are given $1.50 on your print account. When those funds run out, you will need to add money to your printing account.
• You can add money to your printing account by going to the PaperCut site at print.ngu.edu to pay with a card or you can go to NGU Central (located in Neves) on campus to pay with cash.
• You can print from the computers in the library or you can print from your laptop by going to the PaperCut site (print.ngu.edu) and logging in with your NGU credentials. Once logged in, go to Web Print to upload the document you want to print.  PaperCut does not work well on phones.

Community Patron Printing

• Please go to the circulation desk for help printing.

Library Rules & Policies

NOTE: All rules are subject to change, and new rules may be added as needed.

Food and Drinks:

• Please be respectful and clean up your trash.
• Drinks are allowed in the library, but they must have a lid.

Noise:

• Please be respectful and try to speak with a quiet voice.  You may not be studying, but others are.
• Only listen to music/watch videos (on any device) if you have headphones (used at a level only you can hear). 
• The 2^nd floor is considered a quiet study area. There should be no group study upstairs. Users speaking loudly or using devices that can be heard by others will be asked to lower the volume of their conversations or devices and/or be asked to leave the area.
• The Christian Studies Room on the 2nd floor is for silent individual study.
• The 1st floor is considered a semi-quiet group study area. Users may speak quietly in groups.
• Library staff reserve the right to ask persons who are noisy or disruptive to contain or reduce the noise. After a warning, the staff may ask patrons to leave the library. In the event that patrons are not responsive to these requests, Campus Security may be called.
• Students, staff, and faculty are asked to report excessive noise to faculty or staff at the reference desk or circulation desk.

Mobile Phones:

• Cell phones are required to be set to vibrating/silent ring in the library. Phone conversations are not permitted in the library.

Other:

• No tobacco use of any kind is permitted on the NGU campus.

Library FAQs:

1. How many books may a student borrow?

Students may borrow 10 items at a time. The loan period for books is two weeks.

2. Does the Library have movies? 

Yes.  The library's DVD collection is located on the first floor.

3. Can students check out reference books or magazines?

Reference books and magazines may not be checked out, but students may make copies (in accordance with *Copyright Law) for 5 cents per page. 

4. Does the Library have any popular fiction?

Yes, the Library does have a small section of popular fiction, but the overall collection focuses on academic materials.

5. Are cell phones allowed in the Library?

Cell phones are allowed, but all cell phones should be set to silent.  Texting in the Library is fine, but all calls should be made outside of the library.

6. Are students allowed to have food and drink in the Library?

Yes, but the policy is subject to change if students do not clean up their trash.

7. Is the Library open during student breaks?

The Library is open during some student breaks but not all. Holiday/break hours are posted.

8. Does the Library have any study rooms?

The Christian Studies Room on the 2nd floor is available for individual silent study. On the 1st floor of the library, there are 3 very small rooms that may be used by groups of 1-3. There is also a conference room on the 1st floor that may be used if it is not already reserved. You may check on conference room availability with the circulation desk staff.

9. Are there computers in the Library?

Yes, the Library has computers available on both floors as well as printers. 

10. How do I print? Can I print in color or double-sided at the Library?

The library has two printers for student use, and students may print from our computers or from their own devices. For more details, please see our printing libguide. Unfortunately, our printers aren’t set up for color or double-sided printing. Any more complex printing jobs should be done through the PrintHub.

11. Are the books by the entrance free to take?

Yes! Everything on the wooden shelves lining the entrance are free to take. We add books from donations periodically, so check back occasionally to see what's new.

12. What if research leads the student to items at other libraries?

If the Library does not have a book a student needs, the student can arrange to borrow the book from another library using PASCAL (Partnership Among South Carolina Academic Libraries).  Librarians and staff are happy to answer any questions about PASCAL.

13. Can students use the Library’s e-books from home?

Yes, our eBook collections are available to use anywhere.

14. What is the Library of Congress classification?

The Library of Congress subject heading system of classification is a system used for categorizing books by subject.  Details of the system can be found by visiting “Library of Congress Classification Outline”  (courtesy of the Library of Congress).

Information on finding books on the shelves using the system can be found by visiting “From the Online Catalog to the Shelf” (courtesy of the University System of Georgia).

15. Do you offer laminating or binding services?

We offer laminating and spiral comb binding. Lamination is 50 cents per foot, and binding is 75 cents per bound project, which includes a front and back cover and the spiral comb. Please allow plenty of time for us to complete these services for you.

16. Where is Brissie/the Writing Center/the Language Lab?

These areas are below the library. To get there, you will need to go outside and around to the back of the Averyt-Wood building. Enter through the glass double doors, and you should be able to find the room you’re looking for.

17. How do I find a book?

The easiest way is to search our online catalog by using the search bar on our home page. You can search by keyword, author, title, or subject. If you're having difficulty, this Primo tutorial can help.

18. Can I copy or scan something?

The library has two copiers, one upstairs and one downstairs. Black and white copies are $0.05 each, and our copiers only take cash or change. You can also have scans sent to email for free at the Circulation Desk.

*Under Title 17 of the United States Code, it is illegal to reproduce, distribute, or publicly display any copyrighted work (or any substantial portion thereof) without the permission of the copyright owner. Exceptions can be made under fair use guidelines, but the patron, not the Library, is responsible for any violations.