Skip to Main Content

Hester Memorial Library Policy Manual: Introduction, Mission, and Goals

This manual of library policies including job descriptions, is helpful for general knowledge and for persons responsible for college and departmental accreditation documents.

Introduction, Mission, and Goals

INTRODUCTION TO HESTER MEMORIAL LIBRARY
Hester Memorial Library is located in the Averyt-Wood Learning Center, a multi-use facility that houses not only the Library but also offices and classroom space. This building, originally named the Averyt Learning Center, was built in 1974 specifically for the Library facility.
However, in 1997, the building was expanded and remodeled to include twelve new classrooms and ten new offices. The expanded facility was renamed Averyt-Wood Learning Center.

Currently, the Library occupies the main and second floors of this facility, while classrooms and offices occupy the front addition and basement.
The Library is open 84.5 hours a week during the fall and spring semesters and 48 hours a week during the summer sessions. The Library’s collection includes over 50,000 titles; access to over 300,000 academic e-books; access to 10,000+ print, electronic, and full text periodical titles; access to 100+ electronic databases via the Library website; access to 17,000+ academic videos in DVD and digital formats, along with thousands more at the K-12 grade levels; and 190,000+ music albums in CD and digital formats.

These resources can be accessed in the Library through fourteen computer terminals and three listening rooms using DVD or CD players, or outside of the library via the library's database and e-books page.
Students, faculty, and staff are required to show a valid NGU ID in order to check out Library materials.

STATEMENT OF PURPOSE AND GOALS
Mission Statement
The Hester Memorial Library is essential to the overall success of North Greenville University as a Christian liberal arts institution. It strives to meet the curricular and research needs of students, faculty, and staff as well as to provide support and special services to the community. The Library seeks to identify and implement innovative means for broadening access to information beyond the immediate holdings while continuing to build and preserve an extensive collection of both on-site and off-site resources.

Hester Memorial Library supports the mission of the institution through the collection development policy and by providing library services and academic resources that support the curriculum used to educate the whole person and by providing training in using these academic resources.


Goals
The following objectives guide the Library in the achievement of its purpose:

  • Provide a well-balanced collection that supports the curricular and research needs of students, the teaching needs of faculty, and the informational needs of the community.
  • Engage in continuous analysis, planning, and evaluation to ensure the Library’s effectiveness in utilizing staff, material, and financial resources.
  • Provide accurate bibliographic information including availability, location, and format of our collections as well as access to online and off-site information and materials.
  • Continue to pursue and participate in cooperative agreements that increase the resources and services available beyond the collection.
  • Maintain a comfortable and accessible facility with an atmosphere conducive to study and learning.
  • Provide an appropriate level of staffing for all library operations. Library faculty and staff will be qualified, competent and professional in the performance of their responsibilities.
  • Provide ongoing professional enrichment opportunities and training for faculty and staff.
  • Engage in regular and systematic evaluations to ensure that all programs and services are meeting the needs of users and supporting the programs and purposes of the institution.
  • Continue to develop the institutional Archives and other special collections.