ADMINISTRATIVE ORGANIZATION
Library Staff
The Library staff includes four professional librarians, four full-time assistants, and two part-time assistants. These are under the supervision of the Dean of University Library Services, who reports to the Provost. The library also employs approximately ten student workers during the fall and spring semesters. [The following chart illustrates the Library’s organizational structure. CHART TO BE ADDED]
Job Descriptions
Job descriptions are reviewed annually and kept current for each employee.
DEAN OF LIBRARIES
Minimum Job Qualifications:
MLS / MLIS from an ALA accredited Master’s Program and three years of relevant administrative library experience
Job Description:
- Responsible for the administration and management of the Library (and attending facilities: i.e. Archive, Curriculum Lab, and the Miller Bible Museum) and the scope and nature of its services. Develops and administers policies and procedures for the Library.
- Responsible for the recruitment, orientation, and initiation of Library personnel.
- Responsible for the development and expansion of the Library collection including type, format, and numbers of media used.
- Responsible for the Library’s budget and the utilization of budgeted monies to best develop the Library. Prepares annual budget for Library and works with Vice President of Academic Affairs to finalize annual budget.
- Responsible for the selection, acquisition, and processing of all Library materials.
- Works with other Academic/Public Libraries within the state to advance cooperative programs. Participates in local, state, and national functions that impact the Library.
- Maintains statistical records of Library use, services, budget, and acquisitions.
- Oversees the planning and evaluation of all programs and services of the Library.
- Responsible for the development and initiation of instruction programs for the use of Library media by both faculty and students.
- Has faculty status and is expected to serve on faculty committees and participate in faculty functions.
- Is directly responsible to the Provost.
REFERENCE/ ILL LIBRARIAN
Minimum Job Qualifications:
MLS / MLIS from an ALA accredited Master’s Program and two years of experience in library reference work. Will consider MLIS student within 2 semesters of completion of the program with experience in library reference work.
Job Description:
- Functions as a generalist with primary responsibility for the provision of reference services.
- Acts as an instructor for the bibliographic instruction programs.
- In charge of interlibrary loan services. Responsible for processing interlibrary loan requests and maintaining records of all transactions.
- Works with colleagues in maintaining the library web page.
- Assists Dean in the development and maintenance of the Library collections.
- Assists in the opening and closing of Library.
- Has faculty status and is expected to serve on faculty committees and participate in faculty functions.
- Other duties as assigned by the Dean.
- Responsible to the Dean of Libraries.
INSTRUCTION/ PUBLIC SERVICES LIBRARIAN
Minimum Job Qualifications:
MLS / MLIS from an ALA accredited Master’s Program and two years of experience in library reference work. Will consider MLIS student within 2 semesters of completion of the program with experience in library reference work.
Job Description:
- Develops, and acts as instructor for, the bibliographic instruction programs.
- Assists Dean in the development, evaluation, and maintenance of the Library collections.
- Maintains libguides.
- Assists in the opening and closing of Library.
- Mentors staff assigned to Reference Department and Circulation Department.
- Has faculty status and is expected to serve on faculty committees and participate in faculty functions.
- Other duties as assigned by the Dean.
- Responsible to the Dean of Libraries.
REFERENCE ASSISTANT
Minimum Job Qualifications:
Bachelor’s degree with some experience in library Reference work.
Job Description:
- Functions as a generalist and assists with the provision of reference services.
- Assists in the bibliographic instruction programs.
- Assists in maintaining an inventory of the collection.
- Acts as primary back up for Circulation Desk
- Other duties as assigned.
- Responsible to the Librarians.
ARCHIVIST/ TECHNICAL SERVICES LIBRARIAN
Minimum Job Qualifications:
MLS / MLIS from an ALA accredited Master’s Program and two years of experience in the library technical field.
Job Description:
- Maintains Archive and its resources.
- Assists patrons in locating historical or archival materials.
- Works with various entities to acquire historically important materials for the Archive.
- Uses current conservation and/or preservation techniques to save and maintain historically important North Greenville artifacts.
- Arranges for the technical processing, management, storage, and retrieval of all library materials.
- Supervises the processing of all library materials.
- Performs copy cataloging and original cataloging on all library materials.
- Maintains library files and catalogs that provide access to the collection.
- Maintains necessary cataloging records and statistics.
- Assists as needed in reference.
- Serves as an instructor of the bibliographic instruction program. (This includes library/database/bibliographic instructions that take place in the library and sessions that take place in the classroom at the request of faculty.)
- Acts as primary backup to the Director.
- Supervises student assistants assigned to her.
- Has faculty status and is expected to serve on faculty committees and participate in faculty functions.
- Other duties as assigned by the Director.
- Responsible to the Dean of Libraries.
CIRCULATION ASSISTANTS (DAY AND EVENING)
Minimum Job Qualifications:
Associate’s degree or the equivalent with skills in office equipment use.
Job Description:
- Assists in the opening and closing of the Library.
- Insures that all Library material is properly checked in and checked out.
- Maintains a neat, orderly, and quiet atmosphere within the Library.
- Assists students in person, by phone, and email with library information and printing.
- Directs students to the appropriate, qualified person for assistance.
- In charge of work study student schedules and insures that they are used to their fullest potential.
- Reports maintenance and computer issues.
- Processes and routes daily mail.
- In charge of keeping equipment and facility reservations correct and up to date.
- Other duties as assigned.
- Responsible to the Reference Librarians.
LIBRARY ASSISTANT (FULL-TIME POSITION)
Minimum Job Qualifications:
High school graduate with skills in office equipment.
Job Description:
- Maintains print periodicals and textbook reserves.
- Assists in the opening and closing of the Library
- Assists or substitutes for Circulation Asst. as needed.
- Works on special projects.
- Assists in Reference, Archives, or Curriculum Lab as needed.
- Other duties as assigned.
- Responsible to the Reference Librarians.
LIBRARY ASSISTANT (2 PART-TIME POSITIONS)
Minimum Job Qualifications:
High school graduate with skills in office equipment.
Job Description:
- Assists in the opening and closing of the Library.
- Properly checks-in and checks-out Library materials.
- Maintains a neat, orderly, and quiet atmosphere within the Library.
- Assists students in locating information and answering incoming calls.
- Keeps equipment and facility reservations correct and up to date.
- Other duties as assigned.
- Responsible to the Reference Librarians.
STUDENT ASSISTANTS (WORK-STUDY STUDENTS)
Job Description:
- Shelves books, periodicals, and A-V materials.
- Shelf reads the collection, making sure books are in order.
- Shares evening and weekend duties with other student assistants.
- Assists with circulation desk when requested to do so.
- Other duties as assigned.
- Responsible to the Circulation Assistants.
