Welcome to the Theater LibGuide! This guide is designed to jump-start your Theater research needs. The home bar will give you a quick overview of this guide and how to use and find things. The database bar will link the best theater-specific databases and other interdisciplinary databases useful in the world of theater. Web resources link OER and web-based materials useful throughout your studies. Finally, books include recommended and electronic books that willr theater jou help you on yourney.
MLA Formatting & Style Guide (Purdue OWL)
What is Grammarly?
Grammarly automatically detects grammar, spelling, punctuation, word choice, and style mistakes in your writing. You will need to sign up for a free account.
Citation Generators
What is BibMe?
BibMe is a free automatic citation creator that supports MLA, APA, and Chicago formatting, utilizing auto-fill features for the creation of bibliographies or works cited pages. Some advanced features require a subscription.
What is Citation Machine?
Citation Machine is a citation creator very similar to BibMe which uses a streamlined 3-step process and auto-fill features to generate citations in MLA, APA, and Chicago styles. As with BibMe, some advanced features require a subscription.
1. How should a student begin the research process for a paper?
Assignments will vary from teacher to teacher, but it is never a bad idea to start in reference for an overview of the topic. Then the student should progress to the catalog to search for additional books and the online databases to search for articles. Librarians are happy to assist with any research needs.
2. What is the difference between searching an online database and searching on the Internet?
When searching online databases, students will find articles that can be considered as respected, verifiable research sources. Typically students will find articles from magazines, scholarly journals, and reference books in these databases and can be assured that the sources are appropriate for academic writing.
When searching the Internet, students may find good information, but extra steps are needed in verifying the validity/accuracy of such information. In addition, most Internet sources are typically not considered academic/scholarly and may be disallowed by many teachers. The library staff is happy to answer any questions about evaluating Internet sources.
3. What is an annotated bibliography?
An annotated bibliography is just like a standard bibliography with the addition of a summary of each source. Information on annotated bibliographies can be found by visiting “How to Prepare an Annotated Bibliography” (courtesy of Cornell University Library).
Information on MLA style can be found by visiting “MLA Style,” (courtesy of Williams College Libraries).
4. How can a student avoid plagiarism?
Plagiarism is a serious offense and cannot be fully addressed in a short answer. Generally, you always give credit to ideas you are quoting or paraphrasing. For more specific information, ask your teacher, ask a librarian, or visit the plagiarism page created by the Purdue Owl.
Turabian Style was developed especially for students by Kate Turabian, the dissertation secretary at the University of Chicago, and based on the Chicago style of writing. Turabian Style is used mainly for history papers, but it is sometimes used in other disciplines.
Chicago style is a standard used for formatting scholarly books. Turabian knew that most students are concerned with writing papers, so she narrowed the focus and refined the rules specifically for paper writing. Turabian style omits some of the information that is relevant for publishing, but it also departs from Chicago Style in a few other ways.
Fleming, Grace, "Turabian Style Guide with Examples," September 27, 2018, accessed January 20, 2022, https://www.thoughtco.com/turabian-style-guide-with-examples-1857607.
