LibGuides: Oral Communication: Home

Presenting Primo

Pre-Research

Credo View
Credo View contains videos that can help in selecting a topic and gathering information for your speech.
Credo Reference
Look up your topic in this database to get background information and familiarize yourself with your topic.

Oral Comm Best Bets!

Issues & Controversies
Issues & Controversies helps researchers understand today’s crucial issues by exploring hundreds of hot topics in politics, government, business, society, education, and popular culture. Issues & Controversies offers in-depth articles—each presenting both sides of an issue clearly, coherently, and without bias—made to inspire thought-provoking debates. . The articles are written by our own expert writers and editors, and each article includes a full range of supporting materials.
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale in Context)
Opposing Viewpoints in Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues. Drawing on the acclaimed Greenhaven Press series, the solution features continuously updated viewpoints, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.
Points of View Reference Source
A series of essays on controversial topics that present multiple sides of a current issue. The articles provide questions and materials for further thought and study and are accompanied by supporting references from political and societal publications.

Databases

JSTOR
JSTOR is a scholarly journal archive which provides full image access to articles from over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. Journals are always included from volume 1, issue 1 and include previous and unrelated titles. JSTOR goes back to the very first issue of each journal (many of them in the 19th Century) but does not include the most recent five years. NGU has access to 27 JSTOR collections.
NGU has access to the following 27 JSTOR collections:
Arts & Sciences I
Arts & Sciences II
Arts & Sciences III
Arts & Sciences IV
Arts & Sciences V
Arts & Sciences VI
Arts & Sciences VII
Arts & Sciences VIII
Arts & Sciences IX
Arts & Sciences X
Arts & Sciences XI
Arts & Sciences XII
Arts & Sciences XIII
Arts & Sciences XIV
Arts & Sciences XV
Life Sciences
Business IV
Hebrew Journals
Ireland
Lives of Literature
Public Health
Security Studies
Sustainability
Global Plants
19th Century British Pamphlets
Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa
World Heritage Sites: Africa
Academic Search Complete
The world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full-text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
eBook Central
Proquest Ebooks Central is a multidisciplinary collection of ebooks
TOPICsearch
Contains full text for over 150,961 articles from 475 diverse sources including international and regional newspapers, EBSCO's unparalleled collection of periodicals, biographies, public opinion polls, book reviews, pamphlets, and government information.

News Sources

AP News Monitor Collection
Provides near real-time access to top world-wide news from Associated Press on a continuous basis. This collection includes AP Top News, WorldStream, Financial News, AP Online, U.S. Politics & Government and 50 State Reports. The index to the full text content in AP News is held for a rolling 30-day archive, so users can enjoy the previous 30 days of news relating to their search interests.
Newspaper Source Plus
includes more than 860 full-text newspapers, providing more than 35 million full-text articles. In addition, the database features more than 857,000 television and radio news transcripts.

Statistical Sources

Statistical Sources:

Information from reliable, credible sources to support your arguments.

U.S. Census Bureau
Find community-level facts (population, income, etc.) and frequently requested data.
The World Factbook - CIA
United Nations Statistics Division
Bureau of Labor Statistics - U.S. Department of Labor
Statistical Sources by Subject - University of Oregon Libraries

*Credit to Seminole State College Library for this list of links.

Instruction/ Public Services Librarian

Lian Warner

Email Me

Contact:

lian.warner@ngu.edu

(864) 977-7090

Speech Topics

Speech Topics:

Ideas covering a variety of issues, subjects, and disciplines.

Speech Delivery

Speech Delivery:

Suggestions, tips, and tricks that may help with delivering your speech to an audience.

Finding Images

The following are some websites where you can find images to use if you are using a PowerPoint for your speech.

Flickr - Creative Commons
Home for all Flickr Creative Commons content. You can browse by license, or use the advanced search option to limit your results to only CC material.
Unsplash
User submitted image collection with subject headings to help guide your browsing. You can search the collection of over 5 million images.
Creative Commons
Choose a service to search through including Flickr, Fotopedia, Google Images, and Open Clip Art Library