The Hester Memorial Library has a combination of resources to help you with your research, including print materials, eBooks, and online databases. The video below shows you how to use our cataloging system, Primo, to find resources.
How do I find out what books are in the library? There are two ways to find books and other materials!
1. To find a book, go to any of our full-text online eBook collections.
2. To find physical materials, such as a print book, CD, or DVD, search the NGU Library Catalog. To narrow down the search to physical books held in Hester Memorial Library, you will need to use the filters on the left of your search screen in Primo. Select "Held by Library" and "books". Once you have done this, hit the "Apply Filters" button. This should narrow your results down to physical books.
| Keep searches SIMPLE--use one to three important words, NOT a sentence | |
| Decide whether you are searching for: | |
For each item included in the Search Results, the catalog displays the availability, the call number and the physical location within the library. |
How do I figure out where a book or DVD is on the shelf? A call number is used to identify the exact location of an item on the shelf.
Need a book ASAP that we don't have in our library? We have a solution- and it's FREE! The first step is to search our online catalog called Primo. Through Primo, we are connected to nearly every other academic library in the state. This means you can search the catalogs for all of these schools from the same place. To search all of the PASCAL libraries, you will need to be logged into Primo using your NGU credentials. These are the same credentials you use for your NGU e-mail. Once in Primo, you will enter a search phrase into the search box and then select "Other PASCAL Libraries" from the drop-down as shown below.
Once you find a book at another institution that you would like to get, click on the book title to bring up more information about the book. On this page, there is a section titled "Get It". Click on the "Request" button in this section and then fill out the form. Our reference librarian will let you know when your book arrives.
As a student at North Greenville, you are eligible for a Greenville County library card! To get a library card from Greenville County, go to one of the branches and sign up using your NGU address. The Greenville County library card gives you access to not only their physical collections but also to their databases.
If you can't find what you are looking for in Primo, our reference librarian can try to find it for you somewhere else. Our Interlibrary Loan form is online through the link below. After you've submitted it, we will try our hardest to have your book delivered to the library in a few days. Then, you can pick it up at Circulation and check it out like any other book.
Students
Faculty and Staff
Alumni: See library staff
Community Patrons: See library staff
____________________________________________________________________________
Renew your books. You will need your name and library barcode number (same as student ID #). Type in a "bg" before your ID number. Renewing your book(s) online will not remove any holds. To have a hold removed, please go to the circulation desk.
1. What are faculty reserves? Faculty Reserves are books, articles, and other items placed at the library by a faculty member for class use. They are located at the circulation desk.
2. What kinds of items are on reserve?
3. What are the reserves circulation policies?
4. Can reserve materials be copied or scanned?
Students may copy reserve materials (in accordance with *Copyright Law) at a cost of 10 cents per page.
5. Are all university textbooks available in the library?
Unfortunately, we are not able to provide all of the textbooks for every course. We do, however, have a small collection. The majority of the textbooks we have were donated by professors and other students. If you finish with a course, please consider donating your textbook to the library to help out other students.
*Under Title 17 of the United States Code, it is illegal to reproduce, distribute, or publicly display any copyrighted work (or any substantial portion thereof) without the permission of the copyright owner. Exceptions can be made under fair use guidelines, but the patron, not the Library, is responsible for any violations.
1. To access Online Research Databases, e-Book Collections, or other electronic resources through our proxy service, you'll be prompted to enter your NGU username and password. This is the same username and password you use to access NGU email or to login to computers at NGU. For the username, you only need to enter the first part of the email address (example: smithjd15).
If you need help with off-campus access, please contact us:
Phone: 864-977-7094
Email: reference@ngu.edu