Skip to main content

Welcome to Hester Memorial Library

ARCHIVES

Hours

M-F 8:00-4:30

Other hours by request

Contact

Lisa Hagin

(864) 977-2125

The Archive is located on the second floor opposite the Reference  Librarian's desk, beside Aisle 20 of the General Collection. Its primary focus is on North Greenville history, Southern Baptists in South Carolina and South Carolina history. There are also items relating to Southern Baptists in other states.

The collection includes items such as: 

Recordings of Southern Baptist radio broadcasts from the 1940s  and 1960s
Published histories of individual churches and associations 
Letters and papers from prominent area citizens including papers and sermons of Rev. H.C. Hester.
Photographs from the university's history
Cultural artifacts from a number of NGU's international alumni
Catalogs: North Greenville High School, North Greenville Baptist Academy, North Greenville Baptist Academy and Junior College, North Greenville Junior College, North Greenville College, North Greenville University (missing some issues)
North Greenville Annuals (Moonshiner, Aurora: 1920-2013, missing a few issues)
Skyliner, student newspaper (1948-2016, missing a few issues)
Mountain Laurel Literary Magazine issues
Enlightener, Student Handbook (1948-2004)
North Greenville Baptist Association Annual Reports (1889)
South Carolina Baptist Convention Annual Reports (1825-current, missing a few years)
Southern Baptist Convention Annual Reports (1851-current, missing a few years)
Commencement Programs
Commencement DVD’s
Alumni Newsletters (1947, 1951-current)
Scrapbooks from 1947-2006
Collection of books from the library of Henry Clayton Hester, principal of North Greenville Baptist Academy
Select Local Church histories
North Greenville artifacts

View samples of our Archive Gallery

The South Carolina Digital Library is a collaborative effort that includes South Carolina's schools, libraries, archives, museums and other cultural heritage institutions. Its mission is to encourage collaborators to create, maintain and promote digital collections that represent South Carolina's historical and cultural resources.

Loading ...